Nevada Landlord Tenant Law

Nevada Landlord Tenant Laws govern the rights and responsibilities of all parties to a landlord tenant agreement for residential properties in the State of Nevada. The “Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) Chapter 118A – Landlord and Tenant: Dwellings” also provides for remedies to the aggrieved party should one of the parties violate Nevada Landlord Tenant Laws. NRS 118A.180 (1) specifically states that “Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2, this chapter applies to, regulates and determines rights, obligations and remedies under a rental agreement, wherever made, for a dwelling unit or premises located within this State.” Exceptions to NRS 118A may include manufactured homes, low rent housing operated by public housing authorities as well as residency in an institution, or in a hotel or motel where residency is less than 30 days.

This information is not a substitute for legal advice. Should you have questions regarding Nevada Landlord Tenant Laws or if you believe you have a case under NRS 118A, you should seek the advice of a qualified attorney.

Nevada Landlord Tenant Law

Stay up to date on Nevada Landlord Tenant Laws + Save money on tenant screening and other property management needs. Join AAOA today, it’s FREE!

Nevada Landlord Tenant Law – Security deposits

Nevada Landlord Tenant Law allows landlords to charge tenants a security deposit, but the amount of the security deposit must not exceed the amount of three months’ rent. The tenant can offer to purchase a surety bond in lieu of paying the security deposit to the landlord; however, the landlord has no obligation to agree to the surety bond offer from the tenant. Landlords must return the security deposit within 30 days of the termination of the tenancy, less any deductions for rent that is still due, for damages caused by the tenant or guests of the tenant. Landlords may not retain any portion of the security deposit for normal wear and tear to the property. Nevada Landlord Tenant Laws require that if a landlord retains any portion of the security deposit, the landlord must provide the tenant with a written itemization of each deduction. Failure to return the security deposit or to provide written itemization of deductions can result in damages and remedies awarded to the tenant under NRS 118A.242 (6) (7), specifically:

6. If the landlord fails or refuses to return the remainder of a security deposit within 30 days after the end of a tenancy, the landlord is liable to the tenant for damages:

(a) In an amount equal to the entire deposit; and

(b) For a sum to be fixed by the court of not more than the amount of the entire deposit.

7. In determining the sum, if any, to be awarded under paragraph (b) of subsection 6, the court shall consider:

(a) Whether the landlord acted in good faith;

(b) The course of conduct between the landlord and the tenant; and

(c) The degree of harm to the tenant caused by the landlord’s conduct.

Make sure that you comply with Nevada Landlord Tenant Laws regarding security deposits by ordering professionally prepared rental deposit forms and disposition of security deposit when you order your Nevada Landlord Forms.

Nevada Landlord Tenant Law – Miscellaneous statutes

Access to the premises –

NRS 118A.330 requires that tenants grant landlords reasonable access to the premises to make repairs, supply necessary services and to inspect the premises. However, landlords must not enter the premises without consent of the tenant except in an emergency and landlords cannot abuse the right of access or harass tenants.

Right of tenants to display flag of the United States –

NRS 118A.325 indicates that landlords are not permitted to prohibit tenants from displaying the flag of the United States within the property when it is displayed respectfully and in compliance with 4 U.S.C. Chapter 1.

Right of tenants to terminate rental agreement due to disability or domestic violence –

Nevada Landlord Tenant Laws permit a tenant to terminate the rental agreement if the tenant becomes physically or mentally disabled and requires relocation to a facility for care or treatment that cannot be provided at the rental property. In the event of domestic violence the tenant may terminate the rental agreement under NRS 118A.345 by providing legal documentation to the landlord such as copy of a protection order or a report of domestic violence from a law enforcement agency.

It is imperative for landlords to conduct thorough Nevada Tenant Screening and to always have ample supply of proper landlord forms. Protect yourself from costly allegations of violation of Nevada Landlord Tenant Laws with professionally prepared Nevada Landlord Forms.

Nevada Tenant Screening Background Checks

A key component of landlord tenant laws is also Nevada Tenant Screening Background Checks. We’ve dedicated an entire page to it because of its importance. Visit Nevada Tenant Screening Background Checks to screen your tenant.

Nevada Landlord Forms

All states require a variety of forms to rent an apartment to a tenant and Nevada is no exception. Check out American Apartment Owners Association’s Nevada Landlord Forms now.

Nationwide Landlord Tenant Laws

Looking for landlord tenant laws outside of Nevada? The American Apartment Owners Association offers helpful landlord tenant laws for all 50 states. Click on any of the states listed below and go directly to its landlord tenant law page. To visit the homepage of landlord tenant laws, click here.