Virginia Landlord Tenant Law

Virginia Landlord Tenant Laws are set forth in the Code of Virginia, Title 55, Chapter 13.2 Virginia Residential Landlord and Tenant Act. The statutes provide the laws, rights and responsibilities of the parties to a landlord tenant relationship. Virginia Landlord Tenant Law also provides remedies in the event that one of the parties violates terms of the rental agreement or other landlord tenant statutes.

No part of this information is intended to be a substitute for legal advice. If you have questions or believe you have a case under Virginia Landlord Tenant Law, you should seek the advice of an attorney.

Virginia Landlord Tenant Law

Stay up to date on Virginia Landlord Tenant Laws + Save money on tenant screening and other property management needs. Join AAOA today, it’s FREE!

Virginia Landlord Tenant Law – Security Deposits

Landlords are permitted to require a security deposit, but Virginia Landlord Tenant Law specifies in 55-248.15:1 that the security deposit cannot exceed “an amount or value in excess of two months’ periodic rent.” Upon termination of the tenancy, the landlord is required to return the security deposit to the tenant. The landlord can withhold the amount of money equal to the cost of repairs for damages to the premises caused by the tenant. Virginia Landlord Tenant Law forbids a landlord from withholding any portion of the security deposit for normal wear and tear to the property. After deducting for damages, the landlord is required to return the security deposit to the tenant within 45 days after termination of the tenancy.

Virginia Landlord Tenant Law – Miscellaneous Statutes

Landlord may obtain certain insurance for tenant Section 55-248.7:2 of Virginia Landlord Tenant Law provides that a landlord may require “damage insurance.” It is important to note, “The landlord cannot require a tenant to pay both security deposits and the cost of damage insurance premiums, if the total amount of any security deposits and damage insurance premiums exceeds the amount of two months’ periodic rent.”

Landlords can require tenants to maintain renter’s insurance as a condition of the tenancy. In accordance with the statute, “A landlord may require a tenant to pay for the cost of premiums for such insurance obtained by the landlord, to provide such coverage for the tenant as part of rent or as otherwise provided herein.” Again, if the insurance is required, it must not exceed an amount equal to more than two months’ periodic rent. Disposal of property abandoned by tenants Virginia Landlord Tenant Law considers property left by the tenant after the termination of the tenancy and after recovery of the possession of the premises by the landlord to be abandoned. Landlords may “dispose of the property so abandoned as the landlord sees fit or appropriate, provided he has: (i) given a termination notice to the tenant in accordance with this chapter, which includes a statement that any items of personal property left in the dwelling unit or the premises would be disposed of within the 24-hour period after termination.” The landlord must allow the tenant reasonable access to recover his or her property but after the 24 hours, the landlord “shall not have any liability for the risk of loss for such personal property.”

When you conduct a thorough screening of every applicant with Virginia Tenant Screening and obtain necessary Virginia Landlord Forms, you are protecting yourself and your property. You are also providing required notices with the language required by Virginia Landlord Tenant Law.

Virginia Tenant Screening Background Checks

A key component of landlord tenant laws is also Virginia Tenant Screening Background Checks. We’ve dedicated an entire page to it because of its importance. Visit Virginia Tenant Screening Background Checks to screen your tenant

Virginia Landlord Forms

All states require a variety of forms to rent an apartment to a tenant and Virginia is no exception. Check out American Apartment Owners Association’s Virginia Landlord Forms now.

Nationwide Landlord Tenant Laws

Looking for landlord tenant laws outside of Virginia? The American Apartment Owners Association offers helpful landlord tenant laws for all 50 states. Click on any of the states listed below and go directly to its landlord tenant law page. To visit the homepage of
landlord tenant laws, click here.