Alaska Landlord Forms
Below you will find a compilation of information regarding Alaska landlord forms. This list is not exhaustive and you should do your own research and consult with an attorney as needed. This will give you a general idea of the laws in Alaska that landlords need to be aware of while renting residential property, citing the Alaska Uniform Residential Landlord & Tenant Act throughout.
If you do not already have your own forms as a landlord, you can access sample forms from the links below.
Alaska Landlord Forms
Alaska Landlord & Tenant Act: What it Means to You – Sample forms included at the end.
Housing Choice Voucher Program Forms
You can read the full Alaska landlord tenant laws in the link above. Sections have been highlighted below and section numbers cited from the act itself. Remember to review the act itself as updates and changes are made from time to time.
This information is not meant to substitute for legal advice. If you have issues or questions regarding Florida Landlord Tenant Law, it is recommended that you seek the advice of an attorney.
Rental Agreement Terms
- The rental agreement can include conditions that both parties agree to as long as those conditions are not prohibited by law: rent, terms of agreement, and the obligations of both landlord and tenants.
- If the agreement does not include a specific lease term, the lease is determined based on payment. Weekly payments of rent have a week to week lease; monthly payments of rent are on a month to month lease. (AS 34.03.020)
Rental Agreement Signatures (AS 34.03.030)
If an agreement is unsigned but payment is received or accepted, the agreement is in effect. If the landlord does not sign but accepts payment, the landlord accepts the terms of the agreement. If the tenant does not sign but makes payment and takes possession of the property, the tenant accepts the terms of the agreement.
Prohibited Provisions (AS 34.03.040)
- Neither party can agree to waive their rights under the law.
- Neither party can be required to automatically pay landlord’s attorney fees
- Anything included in the rental agreement that is prohibited is unenforceable.
Sublease (AS 34.03.060)
- A tenant cannot sublease the property without the landlord’s consent.
- If a rental agreement allows a tenant to sublease, the subleasing tenants are required to submit specific information to the landlord that includes:
- Name, age, and current address
- Marital status
- Occupation and information about employer
- Rental references
- Credit references
- Number of people who will be living in the property
- A landlord can refuse consent but must let the applicants know in writing within 14 days. The reasons used to deny the request can include:
- Number of people in household
- Number of people under the age of 18 who will be in the household
- A tenants unwillingness to abide by the current rental agreement
- Commercial activity
- A rejection from a former landlord, which must be included in the rejection
- If no written rejection is received from the landlord after 14 days, the landlord’s consent may be presumed and the tenant can move forward with the sublease or assignment.
For more information, visit:
Alaska Landlord Tenant Laws
Alaska Tenant Screening Background Checks The American Apartment Owners Association provides landlord forms nationwide. Looking for a state other than Alaska?
Visit our State Specific Landlord Forms page to learn more.
AK Landlord-Tenant Lawyers Available 24/7
Find the best Alaska real estate attorney for your situation.