North Carolina Landlord Forms
No part of this information is a substitute for legal advice. If you have questions regarding North Carolina Landlord Tenant Law or believe you have cause for a claim under these statutes, you should seek the advice of a qualified attorney.
The landlord forms that you use must go beyond a vague application and lease. Professionally prepared North Carolina Landlord Forms gives you a comprehensive lease that provides crucial information. It serves as a legal document that will be admissible in court, should the need arise. The American Apartment Owners Association also provides other North Carolina Landlord Forms that are essential for you to have available. It is essential for you to have a smoke detector notice and rent receipts. The notice of entry is essential to give your tenant proper advance notice if you need to enter the premises to make repairs or improvements.
North Carolina “§ 42-46. Authorized fees” permits landlords to charge late fees to tenants who are late on their rent; therefore, it is important that you include the notice to pay rent among your North Carolina Landlord Forms. You must only charge late fees permissible under the statutes, specifically:
(a) In all residential rental agreements in which a definite time for the payment of the rent is fixed, the parties may agree to a late fee not inconsistent with the provisions of this subsection, to be chargeable only if any rental payment is five days or more late. If the rent:
(1) Is due in monthly installments, a landlord may charge a late fee not to exceed fifteen dollars ($15.00) or five percent (5%) of the monthly rent, whichever is greater.
(2) Is due in weekly installments, a landlord may charge a late fee not to exceed four dollars ($4.00) or five percent (5%) of the weekly rent, whichever is greater.
If the tenant pays the water at the rental property and is late on the water bill payment, § 42-46 (D) prohibits landlords from charging late fees for that reason. With your professionally prepared North Carolina Landlord Forms, only the legal wording permissible by law will appear on each of your forms.
The move in/move out checklist is crucial for you to have on hand as a landlord. At the beginning of the tenancy, you and the tenant will go through the premises, noting the condition of each area and both of you sign, agreeing to the condition of the premises in writing. At the end of the tenancy, you both note the condition again, following the same procedure as with the move in checklist. This can be proof to the condition of the property should it ever become an issue in court. It is important to keep in mind that you cannot make a claim against the tenant for normal wear and tear to the property during the tenancy.
For more information, visit:
North Carolina Landlord Tenant Laws
North Carolina Tenant Screening Background Checks
The American Apartment Owners Association provides landlord forms nationwide. Looking for a state other than North Carolina?
Visit our State Specific Landlord Forms page to learn more.
NC Landlord-Tenant Lawyers Available 24/7
Find the best North Carolina real estate attorney for your situation.