Late Fees: How High Can You Go?
Should Landlord Change Due Date for Persistently Late Tenant?
by Janet Portman, Inman News
Q: I rent an efficiency unit for $399 per month. Written into my lease is a late-fee clause stating any late rent is subject to a $75 late fee with additional charges per day of $5, capping off at $100.
I work at a company that has recently significantly cut my hours, and this has made it impossible to pay my entire rent on the due date. So I have been paying half and waiting two weeks to pay the other half. But then I get hit with an additional $100 late fee.
I know I have to pay my rent on time, but $100 seems exorbitant on my small unit. Can I ask a judge to rule that it’s not legal or fair? –Yolanda S.
A: You’re looking at a 25 percent late fee! You certainly do have some arrows in your quiver. But before turning directly to your question, let’s review the rules.
Late fees are legitimate when they compensate the landlord for the actual loss suffered as a result of a tenant’s tardy payment. Such losses include the cost of reminding the tenant to pay (by sending a pay-or-quit notice, for example), the staff time spent trying to collect, and the interest lost on that money for the days it doesn’t spend in the landlord’s bank account.
Late fees that exceed actual damages are legally considered penalties, which are not valid in consumer contracts (including leases and rental agreements).
Many states recognize that it’s not easy for landlords to accurately measure the losses they will incur. These states allow landlords to include a set late fee in the lease, but the fee must still follow the universal rule explained above, by being a close approximation of what the landlord will in fact lose if the rent is late.
For example, in Delaware, Maryland and Oregon, the fee cannot exceed 5 percent of rent; in Iowa, late fees cannot exceed $10 per day or $40 per month; North Carolina will invalidate a fee that is higher than $15 or 5 percent of the rental payment, whichever is greater; and New Mexico and Tennessee, at the high end of the list, cap the fee at 10 percent.
Some states, like Texas, require a late fee to be “reasonable,” but that is simply another way of saying that the fee must closely approximate the landlord’s damages.
Now, let’s look at the late fee in your situation. Let’s suppose that you live in a state that specifies how high the fee may go, as do the states mentioned above. To my knowledge, no states surpass New Mexico and Tennessee in letting landlords charge more than 10 percent of the rent.
If you live in those two states, your fee should have been no more than $40; and if you live in a state with a lower cap, the maximum fee would be lower still.
But suppose you live in a state whose rule is simply that the fee must be “reasonable.” Here things get sticky, because a landlord is likely to argue that it requires just as much time and effort to collect $400 in rent as it would be to collect $2,000.
The only difference is the amount of interest the landlord loses on the rent for each day it remains unpaid. But with passbook interest rates at record lows these days, the interest component won’t amount to much, so the difference in lost interest between low and high rents won’t be significant.
In short, a requirement that fees be “reasonable” makes it possible for the landlord to apply more or less the same late fee to small rents and high rents alike, as long as the fee approximates the landlord’s losses. It may not be unreasonable to say that late rent payments cost the landlord $100 in time and effort.
It would be a mistake to stop here, however. The real issue for you is that you can’t pay the full rent when it’s due; instead, tough economic times have made it necessary to pay in two installments. Approach your landlord and explain your situation — you are hardly alone these days.
Unless you live in one of the very few rental markets that’s hot these days, your landlord would be foolish to continue to impose high fees that may drive you away. He may end up not only with a vacancy, but with a risk that the next tenant will not be a keeper. While you’re at it, point out that the late fee amounts to 25 percent of the rent.
Even in a state with a “reasonable” requirement, that percentage is still shocking. I can imagine that some judges will be simply unwilling to stick it to an otherwise stable tenant, especially in these hard economic times.
If you get nowhere with your landlord, consider moving. To contest this fee, you’d have to refuse to pay it, refuse to move when you get a pay-or-quit notice, and use your argument as your defense in an eviction lawsuit. It’s better to just move: An eviction lawsuit would involve too much time and effort, and you don’t want an eviction case, even one you win, in your background.
It would be great if you could, instead, go to small claims court and ask the judge to declare the policy invalid (that way, you wouldn’t be risking an eviction lawsuit), but your state’s small claims courts may not be set up to deal with lawsuits that ask for “declaratory judgments” on people’s rights.
Janet Portman is an attorney and managing editor at Nolo. She specializes in landlord/tenant law and is co-author of “Every Landlord’s Legal Guide” and “Every Tenant’s Legal Guide.” She can be reached at [email protected].
Copyright 2010 Janet Portman
See Janet Portman’s feature, Higher Risk, Higher Deposit.
American Apartment Owners Association offers discounts on products and services for landlords related to your commercial housing investment, including real estate forms, tenant debt collection, tenant background checks, insurance and financing. Find out more at www.joinaaoa.org.
To subscribe to our blog, click here.